February 11, 2016 | 1:38 pm

The Jacobs Institute is an interdisciplinary hub on Berkeley’s campus, and our diverse team reflects this. From our network of faculty and industry leaders to our in-house team of makers and mentors, we’re here to help you explore all things design. Meet the team. 

Jump to: Faculty Leadership / Program and Technical StaffStudent Staff / Faculty, Lecturers and MentorsIndustry Advisory BoardStudent Advisory Board / AlumniIn Memoriam

Faculty Leadership




Program and Technical Staff

  • Amy Dinh

    Student Services & Programs Manager
    Jacobs Hall 103

    Amy manages student services and academic affairs for the Jacobs Institute; she creates and shares resources to help students and instructors. Contact her for advising about courses, programs, and other opportunities for exploring design or to suggest new resources for the Jacobs community.
  • Gary Gin

    Design Specialist
    Jacobs Hall 120

    Gary focuses on electronics and robotics. Contact him regarding Jacobs Hall’s spaces and tools for electronics-based making or to hear about his BattleBots experiences. Learn more.
  • Cody Glen

    Design Specialist
    Jacobs Hall 120

    Cody is a designer, fabricator, and roboticist whose work centers around surface rationalization and computational solutions for complex facade and enclosure problems. His interest is in computational design and digital fabrication and their roles within the greater discourse of design. Contact him about CNC fabrication, PCB fabrication, robotics, computation, optimization, and general design questions.
  • Joey Gottbrath

    Technical Lab Lead
    Jacobs Hall 110B

    Joey leads the technical team and is Jacobs Hall’s building manager. Contact him for safety and technical issues. For equipment service requests, please open a ticket.
  • Adam Hutz

    Design Specialist
    Jacobs Hall 110

  • Robert Kett, PhD

    Lecturer; Public Programs & Communications Officer
    Jacobs Hall 103

  • Aleta Martinez

    Administrative Officer
    Jacobs Hall 234

    Aleta serves as executive assistant to the Faculty Director and provides administrative and operational support. Contact her regarding building tours and upcoming events.
  • Drew Mason

    Information Systems Analyst

  • Chris Parsell

    Design Specialist
    Jacobs Hall 120

    Chris brings broad experience in digital fabrication, from 3D modeling to laser-cutting. Contact him about high-end 3D printing or to hear about hacking shopbots to draw. Learn more.
  • Emily Rice

    Director, Programs & Operations
    Jacobs Hall 210A

    Emily leads the Jacobs Institute’s programs and all operations in Jacobs Hall. Contact her regarding teaching, design initiatives, and partnerships.
  • Mary Catherine Richardson

    Design Specialist
    Jacobs Hall 120

    Mary Catherine is a practicing glass artist with a background in managing shop operationsContact her to optimize design aesthetics, function, and fabrication. Learn more.
  • Tyshon Rogers

    Student Services Advisor
    Jacobs Hall 234

    Tyshon manages student services and academic affairs for the Berkeley Certificate in Design Innovation (BCDI) and provides student services support for the Jacobs Institute. Contact him for any questions about student resources, including certificate requirements and course eligibility for BCDI, scheduling, enrollment and advising.
  • Roland Saekow

    Special Projects
    Jacobs Hall 110A

    Roland works on special projects and operations at Jacobs Hall. Contact him regarding bCourses, General Workshop Safety training, and Jacobs Hall AV questions.


Student Staff

  • Gibson Chu

    Student Repoter

    Gibson is a cognitive science and economics student, interested in social design and product management. He can't wait to share the innovative stories and projects made at Jacobs. When he's not snapping photos, he loves collecting hats and playing board/card games.
  • Sabrina Hua

    Student Supervisor

    Sabrina is a mechanical engineering major, hoping to specialize in medical devices. She loves all things DIY and enjoys running, yoga, and corgis.
  • Nicholas Injo

    Student Supervisor

    Nick is a mechanical engineering student who is interested in robotics. Aside from working at Jacobs Hall, he enjoys playing racket sports, snowboarding, and getting lost in YouTube. He loves learning about all the cool projects going on throughout the makerspace.
  • Joelene Latief

    Student Supervisor

    Joelene Latief is an Engineering Undeclared student passionate about the intersection of design and tech. In her free time, she likes to play with her cats, make things, explore the city, and read new books.
  • Sangyeon Lee

    Student Supervisor

    Sangyeon takes interest in anything that involves creativity. When not in the makerspace, you might find her around campus building RC airplanes, logging specimens to the Essig Museum, or teaching a DeCal on drawing comics.
  • Taylor Lee

    Program Assistant

    Taylor is currently a freshman studying Bioengineering and absolutely loves it here at Jacobs. As a program assistant, her role is to help organize everything that goes on in the building. When she's not here she's probably napping or watching The Office.  
  • Tony Ngo

    Student Supervisor

    Tony is a Mechanical Engineering student, who is interested in robotics, UAVs, and racecars! He enjoys working on his own DIY projects, using equipment such as 3D printers, laser cutters, and water jets.
  • Arianna Ninh

    Student Supervisor

    Arianna is a cognitive science major and professional couch potato, and she's interested in art, design, and sustainability. Aside from working on creative projects in Jacobs Hall, you can find her jamming out at concerts, doodling and painting on scraps, and exploring the Bay Area.
  • Katherine Qiu

    Student Supervisor

    Katherine is a CED Individual Major who is interested in creating well thought out experiences.  When not in prototyping at Jacobs, she loves drawing in her sketchbook, cooking with friends, reading the New Yorker, and tending to her many plants.
  • Eldon Schoop

    Project Lead & Principal Engineer, Maker Pass

  • David Zhang

    Maker Pass Software Developer


Faculty, Lecturers, and Mentors


Industry Advisory Board

  • Liam Casey

    Founder and CEO

  • Bran Ferren

    Co-Founder and Chief Creative Officer
    Applied Minds

  • Maria Giudice

    Rise of the DEO

  • Charles Huang

    Indigo 7

  • Paul Jacobs

    Chairman, Jacobs Institute Board
    Inventor / Investor

  • Dean Kamen

    Founder and President
    DEKA Research & Development Corp.

  • Tsu-Jae King Liu

    Dean, College of Engineering
    UC Berkeley

  • Zexiang Li

    Co-Founder, DJI, and Professor

  • Bert Lubin

    UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital

  • Jack McCauley

    ROR3 Devices

  • Isabel Rhee

    UC Berkeley Foundation Board of Trustees

  • James Truchard

    Chairman of the Board
    National Instruments

  • Cher Wang

    Chairwoman, CEO, and President


Student Advisory Board

  • Bryant Bettencourt

  • Darcy Burnham

  • Cameron Chaney

  • Ruby Chen

  • Tejal Gala


  • Payton Goodrich

  • Eric Jacobs

  • Neha Nagabothu

  • Edward Yang





In Memoriam